David Crosby. 2005.

David Crosby. Bridge School Benefit Concert with CSNY. October 30, 2005.

We lost David Crosby last month. He was an outstanding and passionate singer/songwriter. It happened to be the same day my brother passed away. Crosby’s death left me sad, with many memories of performances I had seen, the last was solo at the Freight and Salvage in Berkeley. I intended to dig out a few photographs I had made over the years. Ironically, it was while looking for pictures of my brother that I stumbled into some from the Bridge School Benefit Concert in 2005. I like this one very much, as he seemed inside his head and the song. He was onstage with some of his great friends, they were making great music and I felt so lucky to be there.

I think it was at this show, as my good friend Jim Rubino and I were walking out from the backstage toward the exit, Crosby and what I believed to be his son were walking toward a bus on the pathway below. I couldn’t help but shout out to him how great he sounded. He called back, “No, it was Nash.” I called back saying it was him, how beautiful his voice was. He said thanks and then said to his son something like, “that nice man said I sang real good.” I was very touched by the interaction. 

Purchase David Crosby Print and Help Bridge School.

CSNY. Bridge School Benefit Concert. 2005. October 30, 2005. Shioreline Ampitheater. Mountian View, CA

In cooperation with the Bridge School in 2005 we sent around prints of CSNY on stage together from that show to all four musicians to sign as fundraisers for the school. They were each given a copy, The Bridge School used the signed print for their Parent’s Raffle. There is still one signed print left but there can be no more with David gone. Proceeds from this special 5 signature print go to the Bridge School. Email to make offer.

Purchase a print signed by Steve alone.

A few words about music and my photography from November 2005

Leave a comment

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , by Stephen Johnson. Bookmark the permalink.

About Stephen Johnson

Stephen Johnson is a landscape photographer, designer and teacher. He has been photographing since 1973. His work has been featured in Communication Arts, Life Magazine, American Photo, Outdoor Photographer, and ABC Discovery News, among many others. His books include At Mono Lake, the award winning and critically acclaimed The Great Central Valley: California’s Heartland, Making a Digital Book and the new Stephen Johnson on Digital Photography. Internationally recognized as a digital photography pioneer, Johnson's photographs have been exhibited, published and collected in the United States, Europe, Mexico and Japan. In 1994 he embarked on With A New Eye, the ground breaking all digital photographic look at American national parks, to be published in due course. In 2003 he was inducted into the Photoshop Hall of Fame. Canon named him to their Explores of Light program in 2006 and X-Rite as a founding member of their exclusive Coloratti color experts group in 2007. Stephen is well-known for his passionate lectures and love for the traditions of fine photography. From Photoshop features, to cameras, printers, and papers, Stephen's consulting with high tech imaging companies have helped shape the very tools we all use today. His photography studios, galleries and education center are located in Pacifica, California. www.sjphoto.com

Leave a comment